Cachexia

Here’s a word you may have seen me use before: cachexia. (the ‘ch’ is a hard k sound)

I thought it was just weight loss. Not so quick there Scooter; there’s more:

Cachexia (play /kəˈkɛksiə/; from Greek κακός kakos “bad” and ἕξις hexis “condition”)[1] or wasting syndrome is loss of weightmuscle atrophy, fatigue, weakness, and significant loss of appetite in someone who is not actively trying to lose weight. The formal definition of cachexia is the loss of body mass that cannot be reversed nutritionally: Even if the affected patient eats more calories, lean body mass will be lost, indicating there is a fundamental pathology in place.

Sooooo, where was I? Today I started writing down all the food I eat and its estimated caloric content. The goal is 3000/day. And the cancer diet rules to which I have been adhering are being ‘eased’ just a little bit. You try to eat 3000 calories/day while eating smart. No; fast food is not smart. Not even bacon and candy  bars. Imagine  that?! It’s more flesh while avoiding as much processed food as possible. What sucks is the realization that even a good pork sausage is processed food. Ditto breads, sweets (bad anyway), pastries (bad anyway), most canned goods, you can figure it out. So I have more meat, beans, quinoa, avocados, etc. Last night dinner was 1/2 lb. of Spencer steak (my portion, not for both of us), and potatoes/zucchini gratin. Animal fat, and …… animal fat.

This brings to mind something I said to my Mom in ’95 when she was here in L.A. to mother me back to health after a big motorcycle racing crash of mine at Willow Springs Raceway. It was Turn 8, the fastest part of the track. Doing about 145 mph when I hit oil deposited on track  by another bike up ahead. 7 bikes had just gone down in it, and the flagman had yet to get out to red-flag the session. Closed-head trauma (aka brain damage; you had no idea …………… right?) and 3 1/2 weeks in the hospital. After the splenectomy and a few days in ICU, I was basically in a wait/improve/heal mode. At one point, in my grogginess, I looked at Mom and said, “I know what’s wrong with me, there’s just nothing I can do about it.” I was told later that this had a very disturbing effect on Mom and saddened her a lot. Being a Salt-of-the-Earth Kansas girl, she never revealed any of this to me.       I know what is wrong w/ me. There’s just nothing I can do about it.

Except feed myself and wait.

I think Mom would say something like that to me now.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

 

 

And now for some exciting news: Hair. It seems like in just a day I have sprouted some eyebrows. Partial eyebrows. And how about that hair on the side of my head! So I guess my old frenemy Radiation is starting to dissipate. And check out that ONE long strand of eyebrow above my right eye. It never gave up. That hair strand is a survivor, baby!

About chucksnuc

If you stop struggling, then you stop life.
This entry was posted in Cancer treatment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cachexia

  1. johnny beyers says:

    She asks me why I’m just a hairy guy I’m hairy, noon and night, hair, that’s a fright I’m hairy, high and low, don’t ask me why, don’t know It’s not for lack of bread like the Grateful Dead, darlin’

    Give me head with hair, long beautiful hair Shining, gleaming, streaming, flaxen, waxen Give me down to there hair, shoulder length or longer Here, baby, there, momma, everywhere, daddy, daddy

    Hair Flow it, show it Long as God can grow it, my hair

    Let it fly in the breeze and get caught in the trees Give a home to the fleas in my hair A home for fleas, a hive for bees A nest for birds, there ain’t no words For the beauty, the splendor, the wonder of my

    Hair Flow it, show it Long as God can grow it, my hair

    I want it long, straight, curly, fuzzy Snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty Oily, greasy, fleecy, shining Gleaming, streaming, flaxen, waxen Knotted, polka dotted, twisted, beaded, braided Powdered, flowered and confettied Bangled, tangled, spangled and sphagettied

    Oh say, can you see my eyes if you can Then my hair’s too short!

Leave a Reply

