Old times – Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

Hey, maybe hard times are having a beneficial effect.

This bottle is one on which you make a deposit, and then take it back for recycling. I vaguely recall that from my childhood in Cedar Rapids. And I definitely recall those 10 oz. Pepsi bottles! The ones that came in wooden crates.

“Hey Chuck, that’s WHOLE milk!”

“Yup, it went so fast, I got this half gallon at TJ’s. But I didn’t read the SMALL print until I got home.”

Oh. I see. Guess I’ll be buying my milk one quart at a time now. It’s more money, but I DO like the packaging.

I gotta say, after the initial shock, that whole milk tastes pretty damn good. I think it’s another example of the body liking and disliking what it wants. Currently, I dislike any form of alcohol and crave things like milk that is just FULL of fat.

Maybe someday I will actually reach 3000 calories. I had a good start today w/ 6 whole wheat crepes stuffed w/ creme cheese and (no sugar added) fruit spread. That’s jam to you and me. Of course, Brigitte tells me I’m just lying to myself b/c that ‘grape juice concentrate’ is just sugar. She’s right, but it’s not that refined sugarcane sugar. And I need to put on some weight NOW. BTW, I added about 2 Tbsp of agave syrup to the whole wheat crepe mix b/c w.w. is just a bit …………. rough or coarse. Not ……….. what word am I looking  for ……… uh, ………. refined.

I’m going back to simpler times. Unrefined flour and milk in a thick bottle that I recycle. No refined food. Whole foods. No processed food. I think I’ll start speaking like 1865 soon.

About chucksnuc

If you stop struggling, then you stop life.
This entry was posted in Cancer treatment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Old times – Reduce, Reuse, Recycle

  1. johnny beyers says:

    C-
    I remember those wooden crates of Soda-POP, as well.
    Glad that appetite is continuing…

  2. johnny beyers says:

    (( NEHI – GRAPE. ))

Leave a Reply

